top of page
  • Writer's pictureTori Peterson

Take 2: This time with Acrylics

I decided to start with a clean slate and remove the previous clumpy watercolour pencils. I am pretty proud with how it turned out, for a first try!


To help me get going, I watched this video.


The base

I began with whitening the eyes and contouring around the face.

Detailing the Eyes

Then I went in and use a darker shade of brown to give the eyes more dimension. I also used the darker brown to outline the eyes again. I added pupils and darker outline again. Then I went back in with the white to add a reflection.


Adding Lips, Teeth, Eyebrows and Eyelashes

The eyelashes were hands down the toughest part. You want to make sure that your paint lines are very skinny so that it will give that natural effect. The trick that I used that was helpful to me was to have a dry brush and always dab off the excess. is something that I will research and aim to improve in my next doll!


A close second for toughest job are the eyebrows. Shaping them and making them appear as natural as possible on her face was very tough.


The lips and eyes were finished off with clear nail polish to give a natural-glazed look.


The Final Look

Using my childhood Barbie clothes and accessories, I dressed and posed the Barbie. I also decided to paint her nails for an extra cute look.


This look took me just under two hours to achieve. I am looking forward to complete the next one!



8 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page