top of page
  • Writer's pictureTori Peterson

Doll #2: Trying on Freckles

I found the process of my second doll slightly easier. I believe this was because it was my second time trying the process.




Before

This doll has slightly darker skin than the first, however the ginger hair really stood out to me, making me want to try freckles. My initial idea was to make her look more natural.


The Process

It was mostly the same process as the first doll, using acrylics to paint the details, then sealed it with clear nail polish.






The Dreaded Eyelashes...

I was having issues getting the lashes just right with this doll...they turned out very clumpy and thick. I ended up removing the lashes that I had painted and went for a different style of lashes that did not require super fine lines. The look is not as realistic but I believe that it suits the doll well. I took a time-lapse of the process with the doll here!





Chop Chop Chop...

Yes, I decided to chop her hair. I was very nervous about this at first, as I have never, ever cut hair before! I used a bobby pin to straighten the hair in order to achieve a straight cut. I did it in layers, starting on the bottom. I went for a short at the back, longer at the front bob-style!


I used some nail scissors to cut the hair.











The Final Look

I really loved the final look of this. During the process, I did not notice the progress of my talent. As I reviewed the photos, I could really see my progress from the first doll to this one.

- Less skakey-lines

- More control over paint brushes

- Easier time doing the eyebrows

- Cut and styled her hair (not perfect, but pretty cute!)




16 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page