top of page
  • Writer's pictureTori Peterson

Some Clumpy Eyes...

Well, this is definitely not as easy as I had hoped.


Last week, I took the time to try my first face painting of the blonde Barbie doll. After watching various videos on Youtube (my favuorite people to watch is Poppen Atelier and Narea Pozo), I decided to start by clearing the exiting face using 100% pure acetone. It worked amazingly well. Just as I had hoped, there were small sculpts in the Barbie's head where the eyes were, so I knew how to proportion the face. I began to draw using my watercolour pencils I bought and...nothing. So, I tried dipping the tip of the pencil into some water to make the markings show up. Oh, they showed up, alright. Real clumpy looking. Agh! After outlining the eyes, I erased it all by simply using a wet Q-tip. Here is a photo of my first attempt:




I sharpened the pencil's tip even further, which helped, however, it was still a little clumpy. It is tough working on an unfamiliar media with tools that I have very little experience with! Ignoring the clumps, I continued to colour in the whites of the eyes. It definitely helped, and I could now see the face coming together again. Here is what the doll looks like how:


Now, I am at a loss. Should I continue with the pencil for this doll, or scratch it all together and use acrylics and the small paint brushes I bought? It has been about two weeks now since I have worked on the full, I feel completely discouraged, however, just writing this blog post is slightly giving me motivation to get back at it!

I just need to get through this week with the busy assignments (midterms season: ed students version, haha). Wish me luck!

7 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page