top of page
  • Writer's pictureTori Peterson

My Final Project


As a final project to wrap this whole process together, I decided to use a larger-scaled Barbie doll head to paint. My expectations going in with this project was that it will be both easier and tougher than the regular barbie dolls. Easier in the sense that it is less fine detailing, and harder in the sense that my details need to be more defined and, well, detailed.


Before

The hot pink lips, the heart twinkles, the pencil thin eyebrows - it's a look alright. The goal I had in mind with this was to make her look more natural and more modernized.








The Process

Because this doll was new territory and involved some new techniques and trial/errors, I decided that a time-lapse was not the best way to present the process. Instead, I took photos throughout.


I tied her hair up in a bun, then went in with the acetone and removed her face. The top was really taught to take off, but with a bit of elbow grease, I managed. I rinsed the acetone off with some soapy water, ensuring a clean canvas.






The basic steps of the process are the same as the as the regular barbie dolls. I began with the eyes, as usual. I went for more of a smokey-eye look, so I used variation of browns and beiges, and used water to aid in blending.


To detail the eyes, I used a variation of brown/green mixtures to add details in the middle (around the pupil) and around the outside if the cornea. This photo only shows the first layer of green.


Because if the whole process of the eyelashes, I decided to use MY false lashes that I use for MY OWN eyelashes. It was crazy how perfectly they fit! I must say, the result was just absolutely gorgeous. I was so proud with the final project. I named her "Flower Girl"





26 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page