top of page
  • Writer's pictureTori Peterson

Let's Get Started!

Updated: Jan 20, 2020

Shopping

To get started with this project, I researched a variety of videos and online lists. I created a supplies list of materials that I both already had and needed to buy:


Supplies List

  • Dolls (blonde, brunette, redhead)

  • Larger doll head (?)

  • 100% acetone

  • Watercolour pencils (variety of colours for eyes and makeup, as well as whites/greys for eye detailing and highlights and beiges for skin tone contours)

  • Acrylic paints (for stronger, more vibrant parts of the face (ex. eyes)

  • Chalk pastels (I have discovered that my makeup pallets will work as well)

  • Doll clothes and accessories to complete the look

  • False eyelashes

  • Variety of fine brushes for paint, powders, etc.

  • Matte Finishing Spray

  • Clear nail polish (for lip glosses)

  • A sewing kit




Preparing the Dolls

I ended up finding and purchasing dolls at Value Village. These dolls looked a bit rough and needed some TLC. Using dove soap and conditioner, I washed each doll individually and brought their hair back to life. Here are some pictures.



Now that the dolls are washed up, I am ready to try to paint my very first customized doll!

31 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page