top of page
  • Writer's pictureTori Peterson

The Little Blue Bird

It's amazing how a little blue bird can bring so many people together.


The Beginning

My first twitter account was created in May 2012. This was for personal uses to connect with my peers. I was 14 years old at the time, therefore it was a major trend to use. Looking back at my tweets, I used it frequently until I was about 16. From there, I was only on about once every few months. Until this course, I have not used twitter much. When I started the course, I created a new account using a new, more professional email. I enjoy using it for professional use more than I did for personal use. I am curious to see how much I continue to use it after this course is finished.


Twitter in the Classroom

Twitter is another social media site that could be used in the classroom to reach out to parents, keep up with trends, and various other uses. According to the Edvocate's article, 10 Ways to Use Twitter in the Classroom, "Teachers are using twitter in the classroom to improve instruction, connect their students with the world, and keep in touch." (Lynch, 2017). This site contains a variety unique ways to use twitter in the classroom that I have never thought of, such as using twitter to summarize (since tweets are maximum 140 characters) and tweeting as a historical figure, Personally, as an elementary teacher, I would not normally consider using Twitter for my kids, although, this article has opened my mind about using twitter for upper elementary/middle school students (grades 5-8).


SaskEd Chat

The SaskEd Twitter Chat was a new experience for me. It was a unique, fast yet in depth way to participate professional development. I enjoyed how we started off with an introductory and dove right into the content.. This was by no means a slow, dragged-out start. To be completely honest, I felt a bit rushed to answer, therefore resulting in less-in depth answers. Next time I participate in a Twitter Chat, I would like to answer the questions prior to the chat starting, then just copy and paste my answers, that way I also have time to respond to other's answers. I am a perfectionist, I know we were not required to answer every question, however, I wanted to try my best! Overall, it was a fun and unique experience that I would love to take part in again!




12 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page