top of page
  • Writer's pictureTori Peterson

Coding the Kitty

This week, I used Scratch to create a coded mini-game called Cute Kitty. I spent probably THREE HOURS on this. I just absolutely loved it! The possibilities are endless when creating.


I started with the standard orange Kitty. I decided to change her colour up, along with giving her some eyelids and eyelashes that I drew on.

Then, I wanted to make my kitty walk. So, I moved the angle of her leg and coded that when either left arrow or right arrow was pressed, the "costume" changed to the other leg movement to make her look like she was walking. There is also footstep sound when she walks as well.


After making her walk, I made her jump. Getting the right number and appropriate hight of the axis was difficult to figure out at first.


Now I had her walking and jumping. I just HAD to give her some obstacles! I placed a purple pipe (Hmm, inspired from what game I wonder...hehe.) for her to jump over. Wanting more than one background, I added a fun obstacle. I placed a giant pair of red glasses down. How could you get through?! If you press the "s" key, the kitty will open her mouth and sing (through another costume change) she will sing opera music for a couple seconds. As she sings, the glasses lenses will crack and eventually break open for kitty to walk through. Ta-da!

Now, you can give my Cute Kitty coding game a try! Enjoy!


Thoughts on Coding in the Classroom

I believe that coding in the classroom engages the students with a modern, yet educational approach to learning. I found it crazy, seeing all of the tabs that must be included in order to make your game/animation work. I can only imagine all of the much more complex coding that goes along with creating a whole video game!


I believe that technology is a huge part of our future, so it is important to involve any type of educational technology in our classrooms so that students have the opportunities to explore and familiarize themselves with various forms.


Teachers: Do not let something new scare you or detour you! You may enjoy learning about it! I know I sure did!

62 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page